Opinion

Learning to face our fears

By Ella Hambrice, Staff Writer

Public speaking is a very common fear that many people have. This fear exists within college students, young adults, and even adults in the workforce. Nonetheless, the force of the fear still remains the same. My own collegiate experience speaks to the debilitating power of a fear of public speaking.

At Georgetown College, seniors participate in a Senior Seminar course specified for their major. For chemistry and biochemistry majors, this seminar entails a detailed presentation in the fall semester of a student’s senior year. On Oct. 23, 2023, I gave my senior presentation on “Benzene: One Chemical Etiology of Leukemia.”

This project took weeks of preparation and practice to complete, and I endured much stress throughout this time. For example, the large amount of attention and dedication required for my senior presentation made it difficult to keep up with other regular assignments, fostering feelings of anxiety and stress. These procured feelings of anxiety prolonged throughout my studies up until my presentation was completed. In addition to my anxiety, I also experienced emotion-filled fear which destroyed my confidence.  

In the weeks leading up to my presentation, even up to a few hours before my presentation time, I became doubtful in my academic abilities to rise to the standards of a senior at Georgetown College. Like any other student, I desired to achieve success through my accomplishments, and I felt pressure to receive academic validation from professional and peer opinion. Furthermore, I wrestled with the fear of failure. No matter how much time and dedication I devoted to my presentation, it would not be enough to guarantee success.

The fear of failure consumed me and affected me in negative ways. For example, when my anxiety rose to high levels, I experienced a tendency to avoid eating. My nerves got the best of my stomach until my anxiety was eventually relieved. Thankfully, I am privileged to have loving friends who supported me in my situation and encouraged me to practice good health even in dark and stressful times.  

On the day of my presentation, one of my best friends, Sarah Bryant, constantly reminded me of how confident I can be, especially through fear. She told me, “Ella, you are the most confident person I know; you can do this!” At first, I was not sure that she was right, but as time crept closer to my presentation, I began to believe her. Her words were representative of my accomplishments throughout my personal and collegiate career. I have worked extremely hard to be where I am today, and my confidence is partially responsible for this achievement. Sarah helped remind me of all my capabilities, and she encouraged me to release the hold fear had on me.  

In summary, fear will always be present within life throughout presentations or other encounters that challenge an individual’s confidence levels. Nonetheless, it is important to be steadfast within your studies and to be grateful for sweet friendships that are daily reminders of your ability to achieve success. Most of the time, if you are doubtful of your ability to do something, there is someone else who is struggling in the same way. Be an encouragement to your peers because you never know how far your words can influence another’s decisions or personal feelings about themselves. 

Fear can be overshadowed by confidence, and I am living proof. Public speaking may be frightening, but it is possible. So next time you feel like you can’t, believe that you can, and you will succeed. 

Leave a comment