Opinion

Fashion should reflect inclusivity and body positivity

By Grace Reed, Staff Writer

I always found couture fashion, designers and models interesting. From Victoria’s Secret fashion shows to Miss America pageants, I frequently made time to watch and rewatch these types of visual presentations. 

Despite my fascination with fashion and runways, I often had a lingering feeling that I was not good enough to take on the likes of fashion after watching a pageant or fashion show.

I understood that the body types regularly displayed in fashion events are unattainable for more than half of the population. I understood that genetics determine bone structure, metabolism and physical characteristics. Even still, I felt like my body did not fit the standard of those wearing beautiful evening gowns, couture fashion or Victoria’s Secret angel wings.

My journey toward fashion inclusivity and body positivity was a steady uphill climb. My mental health declined when I viewed myself as not good enough to wear trendy clothes or beautiful dresses, and many other young girls went through similar experiences.

However, when brands and influencers started to celebrate all women — and not just the insanely talented yet unrealistically slim models — it helped me realize that not everyone who wears trendy clothes or beautiful ballgowns has to have a slim figure.

Women have curves. Women, as a whole, are allowed to express who they are and what they like to wear. The rise of social media, such as Pinterest, Instagram and online fashion blogs, has solidified this idea.

Women should be allowed to wear whatever they like, whenever they like. Although Miss America pageants and Victoria’s Secret fashion shows often feature unattainable bodies, other forms of media exist to remind women that they are perfect just the way they are.

I am just as worthy as a slim model to wear a trendy outfit and to put on a sparkly dress. I am made the way that I am to show others that it is okay to wear whatever they please and to look beautiful while doing so.

Overall, individuals’ unique identities do not control whether or not they can be interested in or participate in fashion. The fashion industry is changing to show increased inclusivity and body positivity for all.

Leave a comment